Station Camp volleyball

Station Camp teammates pose for a picture after winning the District championship Tuesday over Hendersonville.

Three Peat: Bison claim district volleyball crown 

Lady Commandos reach region tournament for the first time since 1999

All-District, All-Tournament teams announced 

GALLATIN - For the third year in-a-row the Station Camp Lady Bison are district tournament champions. 

Tuesday night, the Lady Bison beat Hendersonville High School in straight sets (25-14, 25-9, 25-15) to win the District 10-AAA Tournament. 

“It’s about making sure you set your goals early and not getting carried away, and playing each play and each point one at a time,” Station Camp head coach Molly Yarbrough said. “It’s a constant reminder for our girls to attack every point. To win district and not lose a set for one year is an accomplishment in itself, but to do it for three straight years is huge. We’ve had several close sets this season, but our girls always find a way to fight through and win it. I’m so proud of them.”

One of those tough sets came against Beech in the semifinal game in set two when the Bucs found themselves tied with the Bison at 22-22. Yarbrough decided to call a timeout to talk with her team and make sure they understood the moment. 

“Beech is one of those teams if you give them momentum they will take it,” she said. “Being the district tournament I couldn’t let them have that momentum. This is a do or die situation and so that timeout was to allow me to take control and make sure our team knew what was happening.”

The Bison went on to win the next three points, and the set before cruising in set three for the match victory. 

Against the Lady Commandos in the championship, it was the defense from the Bison that impressed opposing head coach Jason Sloan.

“Their defense was really good tonight,” he said. “They kept getting the ball up and putting swings on the ball. They played so well. That is the best I’ve seen them play against us all year.”

Yarbrough agreed that her defense impressed her along with her team’s communication. 

“We were able to pick up shots tonight that a few weeks ago we didn’t pick up,” she said. “We ran through balls, and played a scrappy game and allowed ourselves to get the ball back and refocus.”

Both Hendersonville and Station Camp will take the next few days off before getting back to work for the Region 5-AAA Tournament held in Wilson County next Tuesday. 

“We will take a couple days off and let them re-energize,” Yarbrough said. “Then it’s back to work and making sure we are focused and know what our goals are.

“State has always been the end goal for us,” she continued. “But, it’s making sure they know there is a big picture goal [state] and the steps you take in order to get there.”

For Hendersonville they make the trip to the region tournament for the first time in 20 years. The Lady Commandos will party like it’s 1999, but it is because of the sacrifice and determination put forth by everyone associated with the black and gold. 

“We’ve just put in the hours and hard work,” Sloan said. “You must have girls that are willing to do that and we do. We’ve put in well over 100 hours over the last four months to get here and I can’t say enough about their commitment to the program.”

The region tournament is uncharted territory for every member of the Lady Commando volleyball program. Sloan says he hopes his team will soak in the moment, but adds that he hopes they will come back with fire on Sunday and prepare accordingly to get to the sub-state round. 

“We will soak it in for a couple days, but it is back to work Sunday,” he said. “We focus on the next step and take baby steps. The reality is we haven’t been to this point in 20 years, so we don’t want to get too far ahead of ourselves. We just need to try and win the first game [on Tuesday] and see what happens.”

Station Camp and Hendersonville will play either Wilson Central or Lebanon. At the time of writing this story, the District 9-AAA championship has yet to be played. 


All-District 10-AAA Team: 

MVP: Reagan Bratton (SCHS)

SCHS: Emma Titus

SCHS: Emily Keck

SCHS: Addie Lennon

HHS: Dylan Mott

HHS: Sara Amis

GHS: Landry Tea

GHS: Taylor Snow

BHS: Allie Whittinghill

MHS: Jada Johnson

HLHS: Jessica Gonzalez

COY: Molly Yarbrough (SCHS)

Team Sportsmanship: Hunters Lane 


All-Tournament Team: 

MVP: Emily Keck (SCHS)

SCHS: Reagan Bratton

SCHS: Emma Titus

SCHS: Aleeyah Willis

HHS: Dylan Mott

HHS: Sarah Kovach 

GHS: Taylor Snow

BHS: Allie Whittinghill 

Recommended for you