Awards breakfast held Jan. 11 at CU --

The Wilson Post announced its' 5th annual All-Wilson County Football Team with an awards breakfast Saturday, Jan. 11 at Cumberland University's Baird Chapel.

The Tyler McChurch Memorial Foundation and J.M. Insurance Agency continued as co-sponsors of the event.

The 2019 Player of the Year is Friendship Christian's Justin Seagraves.

A senior, Seagraves assumed the quarterback duties at FCS after the projected starter was injured in a preseason scrimmage.

He ran for 1,444 yards (8.4 per carry) and 22 touchdowns. He also completed 63 percent of passes for 849 yds and nine more scores -- helping lead the Commanders to a record of 9-3 and a berth in the Division II-A semifinals.

Watertown's Deramus Carey was recognized as the Tyler McChurch Memorial "Beast of the Year" by J.M. Insurance.

The Defensive Player of the Year is Lebanon's Greyson Gregory.

Lebanon's Dequantay Shannon is the Offensive Player of the Year.

Ryan Jackson of Friendship Christian School is the Offensive Lineman of the Year while Mt. Juliet's Zach Delfendahl is the Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Lebanon's Levi Sampson was presented the Academic Award and Mt. Juliet's Tyler Johnson was named Special Teams Player of the Year.

Wilson Central's Brad Dedman was named Coach of the Year.

2019 All-County OFFENSE -

QB: Christian Link, MJCA; Tristan Lewis, Wilson Central; Brayden Cousino, Watertown.

RB: Conlin Baggott, Mt. Juliet; Jahiem Robinson, FCS; Kameron Curtis, MJCA.

WR: Dorian Champion, FCS; Malik Bowen, Mt. Juliet; Elijah Williams & Brandon Watts, Watertown; Jack Crouch, MJCA.

TE: Montrell Walker, MJCA

OL: Blaze Holder & Alex Cain, Wilson Central; Josh French & Preston Creswell, Watertown; Mitchell Bare, FCS; Jackson Monette, LHS.

ATHLETE: Quanterrius Hughes-Malone, Watertown & Devin Palmer, Mt. Juliet

K/P: Neill Kane, Friendship.

2019 All-County DEFENSE -

DL: Kolton Rhoades, MJCA; Noah Tidwell, FCS; Josh Powell & Justin Burch, LHS; Luke Roberts, Mt. Juliet.

LB: Daniel Davila, LHS; Braxton Swann, Watertown; Bobby Owen, FCS; Jordan Carter, Watertown; Ashton Hurley, Mt. Juliet.

DB: Jack Martin, FCS; Ezra Widelock, Wilson Central; Jamari Sowell & Grady Mang, Mt. Juliet; Jordan Cason & Cole Miller, Watertown.

ATHLETE: Jared Lawrence, Wilson Central.

Honorable Mention -

Zach Hudson, Wilson Central; Jackson Eskew & Andrew Mathis, FCS; Dominic Celluci, LHS & Cade Kurtz, LHS.

Recommended for you