HHS/SC/BHS's Matthew Siciliano (left) and MBA's Luke Haley (right)

NASHVILLE – The Hendersonville-Station Camp-Beech hockey team is bringing some hardware back to Sumner County. 

The Ice Commandos took down second-place MBA 4-3 on Wednesday night at Centennial Sportsplex to win the GNASH Cup as the regular season points leader.

HHS-SC-BHS becomes the first three-school co-op team to win a GNASH trophy, and it’s also the first time Station Camp has ever won a GNASH trophy. 

In a back-and-forth game, both offenses came to play in the first period. Colson Leonard put the Commandos up 1-0 at 7:21 with an unassisted goal. Two minutes later, Brennan Roach even it up 1-1- for MBA, assisted by Brandon MacDonald-Surman and John Aron.

MBA took its first lead of the game with 2:21 left in the opening period when captain Luke Haley beat HHS-SC-BHS goalie Brandon Shaw for the 2-1 lead. 

However, the Commandos tied it 2-2 with 16 seconds left in the period when Tyler Kimbro sniped one past MBA goalie Matthew Thayer. Matthew Siciliano and Gavin Damewood were credited with the assists. 

The teams traded goals in the second period as Siciliano put HHS-SC-BHS up 3-2 only to see MBA tie it 3-3 minutes later on Haley’s second goal of the game. 

In the final period, Siciliano put HHS-SC-BHS ahead for good with a goal with 7:37 remaining, assisted by Garrett Parker. 

The win improves HHS-SC-BHS to 16-1-1 with 33 points, while MBA finishes in second place at 15-2-1 with 31 points.

Shaw stopped 19 of the 22 shots he faced for HHS-SC-BHS, while Thayer made 15 saves on 19 shots for MBA. Each goalie finished in the top five in goals-against average – Thayer ranked third with 1.79, while Shaw ranked fourth with 1.81. Shaw also finished the season with the most wins in the league with 13. 

The GNASH playoffs begin next Monday. Here is the playoff seeding:

1- Hendersonville-Station Camp-Beech

2- MBA

3- Brentwood

4- Father Ryan

5- Ravenwood

6- Centennial-Page


8- Mt. Juliet

9- Tennessee Outlaws

10- Independence-Summit

11- Brentwood Academy-FRA-Lipscomb Academy

12- Ensworth-Nolensville

13- Blackman-Stewarts Creek


15- Franklin-Hume Fogg

Recommended for you