Siegel's softball team added another District 7-AAA tournament title to its collection on Friday night with a 10-1 victory over Smyrna at Riverdale.

The Lady Stars (31-1) are scheduled to host Lincoln County on Monday, while Smyrna will head to Manchester to face Coffee County and future MTSU player Keri Munn, who was named the District 8 pitcher of the year.

Early on, both defenses and pitchers in the circle were on point as a pair of juniors, Mary Bradley for Siegel and Laura Benniza for Smyrna, threw well and were backed up by their respective defenses.

"We needed to make adjustments at the plate so when we get on the bases we can use our speed," Siegel coach Shawn Middleton said of his team's play.

Benniza sat down the first seven Siegel hitters she faced but had problems when Sam Whitwell singled and Hope Keeton walked, which led to a two-RBI double by Reagan Duran to make it a 2-0 game. Duran singled in the fourth for another run batted in.

Whitwell doubled in a three-run fourth and the score was 6-1.

Smyrna's only run came on a home run by Brylee Bartley as it was the Bulldogs 13th home run of the district tournament.

Siegel scored four more in the sixth with three hits and a couple walks, with a by a bases-clearing double by Lexi Medlock that scored Whitwell, Duran and Rilie Maupin.

Smyrna used two other arms in Riley Gray and Sophie Clayton but to no avail as it was Siegel's day.

"We try to hit line drives as that is our goal." Medlock said of her bases-clearing double. "Both teams, us and baseball (team), are getting the respect we deserve and it will be fun to host both of the games on Monday."

Bradley walked three but struck out a 13 as she was named the Most Valuable Player of the district tournament.

"It was great," Smyrna coach Lonnie Drayton said of the huge crowed on hand. "Softball is the greatest game out there. Once you start coming to softball games you cannot stop coming."

District 7 All-Tournament Team

Stewarts Creek: Kadin Shattles

Oakland: Maddie Poschke, Onnika Spencer

Smyrna: Lissi Drayton, Azaria Jones, Jaylah Edmondson, Brylee Bartley

Siegel: Lexi Medlock, Sam Whitwell, Reagan Duran, Lauren Lee

MVP: Mary Bradley Siegel

Recommended for you